Dr. Daniels receives national award of distinction

Madison College President Jack Daniels has been selected to receive the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Dr. Daniels will be among a select group of 18 college presidents from across the country to receive the award during PTK Catalyst 2019, the Society’s annual convention, April 4-6 in Orlando, Florida. 

These awards are given to college presidents who have shown strong support of student success on their campus by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students at their colleges. Recipients are nominated by students on their campus and are only eligible to receive the award once over the course of their career.

The Shirley B. Gordon Award is Phi Theta Kappa’s most prestigious award for community college presidents and is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest-serving Board of Directors Chair and a founder and long-time president of Highline Community College in Washington. 


Published February 8, 2019. Updated February 14, 2019.