Announcements

ETF offers webinars for July, August

The Department of Employee Trust Funds (ETF) is offering a series of live, interactive webinars designed to increase employees’ understanding of Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS) benefits. Employees can ask questions after each session. Visit the ETF webinar events page to register and learn more about the following sessions. Registration closes 10 minutes prior to the event.

Additional Contributions
By adding money to a WRS account, via additional contributions, employees can enhance the eventual WRS retirement benefit. This 30 minute webinar explains how.

  • Thursday, Aug. 1, 11:30 a.m.-noon
  • Wednesday, Aug. 7, 6-6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 13, 11-11:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, Aug. 28, 12:30-1 p.m.


Beneficiary Designations - What Happens to an Account When an Employee Dies?
This webinar reviews the importance of having a beneficiary designation on file and keeping it updated as life events occur. ETF will also review how to correctly complete a designation form, what it means if the form is not on file with ETF and how employees can request a copy of their current forms. (30 min.)

  • Tuesday, July 2, 11:30 a.m.-noon
  • Thursday, July 18, 12:30-1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 23, 6-6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, July 29, noon-12:30 p.m.


Overview of the Wisconsin Retirement System
This webinar covers participation in the Wisconsin Retirement System, how the WRS is funded and what benefits are available under the WRS. A brief overview of the Core and Variable Trust Funds and how the WRS is structured are included. (30 min.) 

  • Friday, July 12, 11-11:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, July 17, 6 p.m.-6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 25, noon- 12:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 30, 11:30 a.m.-noon


Retirement Annuity Options
This 30 minute online webinar discusses the many options for receiving the retirement benefit and how each option impacts the size of payment and affects loved ones.

  • Wednesday, Aug. 7, noon-12:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 15, 12:30-1 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 22, 12:30-1 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 29, 6-6:30 p.m.


WRS Employee and Employer Contribution Rates 
This 30 minute webinar reviews how employer and employee contributions help keep the WRS fully funded and discusses how the contribution rates are calculated.

  • Thursday, Aug. 8, 11-11:30 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 13, 12:30-1 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Aug. 21, noon-12:30 p.m
  • Tuesday, Aug. 27, 6-6:30 p.m.


WRS Retirement Benefit Calculation Methods
This 30 minute webinar explains the methods used for benefit calculations and each method’s components.

  • Tuesday, Aug. 6, 11:30 a.m.-noon
  • Wednesday, Aug. 14, 6-6:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Aug. 28, 11-11:30 a.m.

Published June 28, 2019.