Instructor receives national award

Architectural Technology instructor Michael Ford was named Top Innovator in Race and Social Equity by the nationwide Urban Libraries Council. He was recognized for his Hip Hop Architecture Camp for middle and high school youth which allows them to reimagine their communities through the lens of hip hop. The first camp was held at the Madison Public Library. Ford now holds camps throughout the U.S.

Published November 27, 2017.

Writing Center represents Madison College at international conference

The Madison College Writing Center sent a group of faculty, professional and peer tutors to the International Writing Center Association annual conference in Chicago Nov. 10-13.

Peer tutor Adrienne Oliva presented a paper based on a Spring 2017 Honors Project. Online Writing Center tutors Andrea Benton, Charlotte Smith and Heidi Rosenberg presented on research they're conducting in the Madison College Writing Center. Director Sarah Z Johnson and Senior Coordinator Susanne Treiber gave a paper about peer tutor training.

Published November 22, 2017.

Betty Hurd receives service award from Wisconsin Art Education Association

Wisconsin Art Education Association recognized Betty Hurd as the 2017 Distinguished Service Award recipient on Oct. 27, for her work with Visioneers, a state wide program and competition to inspire the arts.

Betty has volunteered and been a mentor for middle and high school students across the state in fashion design competitions for over ten years.



Published November 8, 2017. Updated November 22, 2017.

Clarion wins eight national awards

The Clarion received eight national awards at the Associated Collegiate Press National College Media Convention held Oct. 25-29 in Dallas.

The collection included four individual Pacemaker Awards, three best-of-show awards and recognition of a staff member as a finalist for two-year college reporter of the year. Design director Alexandra Christensen received a third-place Pacemaker Award for Page One Design for the Feb. 15, 2017, issue. Graphic Artist Kristina Karlen earned a third-place Pacemaker Award for Display Advertising for an ad promoting the Yahara Journal.

Illustrator Michael Edwards received third-place and an honorable mention Pacemaker Awards in Editorial Cartooning for two cartoons that were published during the spring 2017 semester. The newspaper's web site received a fifth place best-of-show award, while the newspaper earned a seventh place best-of-show award for two-year college newspapers. In addition, a multimedia package put together by Adrienne Oliva and several members of the Clarion broadcast team earned a 10th place best-of-show award.

Alison Ahlgrim was one of five finalists for two-year college reporter of the year. Ahlgrim, the news editor during the spring 2017 semester, earned an honorable mention recognition.

Published November 8, 2017.

Faculty, staff lead Expanding Your Horizons at Truax

On Saturday, Nov. 4, the Madison College Truax Campus hosted Expanding Your Horizons, a one-day event conducted by STEM women for girls interested in science and related fields. The college hosted more than 150 middle school girls who learned about medical technology, IT, weather and climate, electrical engineering, welding, big data, geology and biotech.

Madison College has participated in Expanding Your Horizons for more than 10 years.

The following faculty, staff and students served as outstanding leaders during this event:

Penny Johnson, business technology instructor

Marie Andrae, Senior Business Intelligence and Data engineer

Jennifer Lewis, physical science instructor

Colleen Ley, Nursing instructor

Oana Martin, biotechnology instructor

Colleen Moore, server and storage team lead

Belinda Prahl, employee development coordinator

DeAnne Pasold, computer support coordinator

Catarina Poehnelt, Nursing instructor

Ruth Rexroat, Nursing instructor

Ann Thompson, Electronic Service Technician instructor

Hannah Wolf, part-time instructor

Bethany Sansing Helton, mathematics instructor

Taylor Norton, student worker

If you are interested in participating in next year’s event, please contact business technology instructor Penny Johnson.

Published November 6, 2017.

Dr. Sheppard to participate in panel discussion

Instructor Dr. Maurice Sheppard will participate in a panel discussion at the Faculty Careers at Teaching-Intensive Institutions, which will be held at the UW Memorial Union Friday, Nov. 3, from 3:30 to 5:30 p.m.

Topics of discussion include the expectations and responsibilities of faculty positions, the skills and experiences that departments look for in hiring new faculty, what graduates can do to become competitive for those positions and the role of each participant’s research and publications. 

Published November 1, 2017.

Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation awards Phi Theta Kappa members

Three Madison College students received Leaders of Promise Scholarships from the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. Phi Theta Kappa members Andrew Fedosky, Devlin Hernke and Catherine Larsen will receive $1,000.

Fedosky, a liberal arts transfer student, plans to transfer to UW-Madison to pursue a career in electrical or computer engineering. Hernke, a veteran, is enrolled in the Criminal Justice program. Larsen, a liberal arts transfer student, plans to continue her studies at UW-Madison in Gender and Women’s Studies.

The Leaders of Promise Scholarship recognizes 200 Phi Theta Kappa members with awards totaling $200,000. Twenty-five of these scholarships are earmarked for Society members who are active personnel or veterans of the U.S. Military. Hernke has served the Wisconsin Army National Guard as a medic for four years.

This year’s recipients were selected by a panel of independent judges from nearly 1,000 applicants. Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars are selected based on outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership potential.

Published November 1, 2017.

Paralegal program instructors recognized

Paralegal program instructors Jody Cooper and Norma Kropp were asked to speak at the recent American Association for Paralegal Education (AAfPE) thirty-sixth national conference on Effective Orientations: Laying the Groundwork for Student Success.

Kropp was also asked by the American Bar Association (ABA) to be on a panel at that national conference. She discussed navigating ABA approval or re-approval.

The conference took place Oct. 18-21.

Published October 30, 2017.

Renewable energy certificate students receive scholarships

Ashley Scholes and John Schwarzmeier, students in the renewable energy certificate, won a travel scholarship to attend the National Science Foundation Advanced Technological Education Conference in Washington DC.

These students, who are pursuing careers in engineering, exhibited posters and presented as members of a panel. Both received a certificate of recognition from NSF. Scholes’ poster was about self-cleaning solar panels, and Schwarzmeier’s poster focused on gravitational energy storage.

Published October 30, 2017. Updated November 1, 2017.

Paralegal Program receives national attention

Paralegal Program e-Discovery instructor Jim Fine received the Relativity e-Discovery Software Partner of the Year Award at Relativity Fest last week.

Published October 27, 2017. Updated November 3, 2017.