Program Director named president-elect of HSMAI

Dr. Lynea LaVoy, Hospitality Management program director and faculty member, has been selected as the president-elect for the newly-forming Hotel Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI) Wisconsin Chapter starting in early 2017. HSMAI is a global, member-based organization made up of sales and marketing professionals throughout the hospitality industry.

With a strong focus on education, HSMAI is the industry leader in keeping up with sales, marketing, revenue management and digital media trends and offers members regular opportunities to connect, learn from one another and share best practices. HSMAI has a strong commitment to growing business for hotels and their partners. Current membership is just over 7,000 individuals across 35 countries with numerous local chapters across the U.S. and abroad. The full Wisconsin board of directors is currently being assembled with the goal of officially launching the Wisconsin HSMAI Chapter in April.

An HSMAI Student Chapter will be formed at Madison College once the Wisconsin Chapter gets off the ground and running. This will provide an excellent opportunity for students to get involved with hospitality professionals from across the state to tap into with questions, network for career advice and stay abreast of job opening.

Please contact Jen Yakimicki Guimond with North Central Group, Sarah Lemmers with the Greater Madison Convention and Visitors Bureau or Dr. Lynea LaVoy with any questions on how to get involved in this exciting new initiative.

Published December 21, 2016. Updated January 20, 2017.

Student awarded international scholarship

Jessica Ingersoll, Madison College student, was awarded a scholarship through the U.S. Department of State's Gilman International Scholarship Program for the spring 2017 study abroad program in Seville, Spain. The Gilman Scholarship Program reviewed over 2,700 applications for spring programs, and just over 850 outstanding students were offered awards to participate in credit-bearing study abroad programs and career-oriented internships in countries around the world.

Follow this link for more information about the U.S. Department of State's Gilman International Scholarship Program.

Published December 21, 2016. Updated January 20, 2017.

Recreational Sports Journal publishes Shepard's study

The findings of a recent North American study led by Adrian Shepard, Recreation Management program faculty member, have been published in Volume 40, Issue 2 of the Recreational Sports Journal. The study was Institutional Review Board Approved (IRB) and supported by the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA). 

The resulting article titled "A Five-Year Comparison of High-Risk Behaviors in Collegiate Recreation: Overtraining and Eating Disorders An Exploratory Study" serves as follow-up to Shepard's seminal study conducted in 2011. It focuses on gauging the perceived prevalence of overtraining and eating disorders in the collegiate recreation (CR) setting, assessing CR professionals' knowledge of overtraining and eating disorders, identifying challenges CR departments encounter when faced with these behaviors, assessing the need for the development and implementation of best practices, and identifying resources to aide CR professionals when working with people who demonstrate high-risk behaviors. 

Shepard's team of researchers for this study included Cathy Jewell with Counseling and Psychological Services at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Katie Kage with the Nutrition and Dietetics Program at the University of Northern Colorado, and Mick Lynch with Counseling and Wellness Services at Winona State University.

Contributors to this study included Scott Peden, Director of Recreation at Butler University and Jennie Phillips, Assistant Director of Fitness at the University of Notre Dame.

Published October 17, 2016. Updated January 20, 2017.