Math instructor helps improve instruction nationwide

George Alexander, Madison College math instructor since 2005, was named to the Carnegie National Faculty by Carnegie Math Pathways. Alexander is a former co-chair of Madison College’s mathematics department. He is also faculty of record for the Credit for Prior Learning course sections for mathematics prerequisites. He joins 32 other faculty from around the country who work to improve student learning and success in math.

Alexander has taught using the CMP quantitative reasoning course for five years. In addition to teaching and being a faculty facilitator, Alexander has worked with the CMP Instructor Notes Design Team and Faculty Improvement Teaching team. He also assisted with piloting contextualized Pathways lessons.

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching initiated a network of faculty members, researchers, designers, students and content experts to create a new system that will increase student success in developmental mathematics. Their goal is to reduce the percent of students who enter developmental math classes at community colleges and never complete a college level math class.

“It is clear that George shares a commitment to the students we serve and a passion to see improved performance in serving them through the pathways,” said Karon Klipple, Ph.D., senior director for Carnegie Math Pathways.



Published August 9, 2019.

Competition continues for WolfPack members

Another group of WolfPack members (18 and counting) signed national letters of intent to continue as student-athletes at a four-year institution. The commitments represent four programs and include schools that compete in NCAA Division I (8), NCAA Division II (5), and NCAA Division III (5).

Published July 15, 2019. Updated August 2, 2019.

Instructor publishes thriller

Madison College Writing Instructor John Galligan has published a new thriller titled “Bad Axe County.” The book was released Tuesday, July 9, and is Galligan’s sixth major work. Atria Books, a national publisher and a division of Simon and Schuster released the book and has Galligan under contract to write a second.

Published July 10, 2019. Updated August 2, 2019.

SkillsUSA Championships results revealed

The SkillsUSA Wisconsin College Postsecondary took 36 student contestants to the SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference in Louisville, Ky., to compete in the SkillsUSA Championships during the week of June 24-28.

Madison College students earned the following results:

  • George Kattermann and Connor Dempsey, Mechanical Design students, eighth in Additive Manufacturing. Advisor: Ryan Ubersox.
  • Danny Gutierrez, a Cosmetology student, fourth in Barbering. Advisor: Melissa Brainerd.
  • Mary Loeser, a Cosmetology student, fifth in Cosmetology. Advisor: Melissa Brainerd.
  • Andrew Allison, an Automotive Technology student, eighth in Extemporaneous Speaking. Advisor: Craig Lathrop.
  • Katrina Willis, a Health and Medical Coding student, seventh in Job Interview. Advisor: Jeff Molzahn.
  • Payton Fandrich, an Automotive Technology student, seventh in Job Skill Demonstration Open. Advisor: Craig Lathrop.
  • Alex McConkey, an Automotive Technology student, 13th in Motorcycle Service. Advisor: Craig Lathrop.
  • Hunter Payne, an Automotive Technology student, 19th in Job Skill Demonstration A. Advisor: Craig Lathrop.
  • Aaron Pohl, an Auto Collision and Refinishing student, 14th in Prepared Speech. Advisor: Aaron Stroot.
  • Xiong Her Pao, an Auto Collision and Refinishing student, 23rd in Automotive Refinishing. Advisor: Aaron Stroot.

Zeno Bell, an Automotive Technology student, and Anne Marie Loeser, a Cosmetology student, attended all the delegate sessions, voted on changes to the SkillsUSA bylaws and represented at the annual business meeting.

Timothy Myers, a Mechanical Design graduate working towards his vocational education degree, ended his term as national Parliamentarian. Myers was the first national officer that Wisconsin C/PS had in 25 years and the first from Madison College.

Published July 3, 2019. Updated August 2, 2019.

WolfPack Student-Athletes earn spots on awards list

In addition to Madison College Athletics receiving eight NJCAA All-American selections — the most in school history — for their play on the field, the school also boasts an even more impressive 20 NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Award winners for the second year in a row. Included in the 2018-19 award recipients are a record-tying four All-Academic First Team honorees who earned a perfect 4.00 over the course of two semesters.

Published July 3, 2019.

Faculty member presenting tutorial at data conference

Cary Walker, IT faculty member, will present a day-long tutorial at the Data-Driven Wisconsin conference July 30. His topic will be Artificial Intelligence through Reinforcement Learning. Walker teaches web programming in the Web and Mobile Application Development program. He recently created a class in Big Data.



Published June 28, 2019. Updated August 2, 2019.

Three-peats are the new WolfPack tradition

Madison College is the latest school to hold onto the North Central Community College Conference’s All-Sports Award trophy for a third straight year after a victorious 2018-19 season. The WolfPack earned 41 points based on their final standings in seven sports and tallied a four-point margin victory over second place Rock Valley College. The same two schools finished 1-2 in each of the past two years, with Madison College earning a two-point separation both times.

Published June 21, 2019.

Faculty member leads conference

Aaron Chapin, part-time Criminal Justice Program faculty member, Shorewood Hills Police Chief and president of the Police Society for Problem Based Learning, coordinated and led the 2019 PSPBL Conference: Training for Resiliency, The Role of Emotional Intelligence in Policing. The conference was held Wednesday, June 5-Friday, June 7, in Madison. The event welcomed a diverse group of participants, with some hailing from Brazil. 

Speakers for the conference included Chief Mike Koval, Detective Jim Martin, Greg Saville and Gerry Cleveland and Dr. Kevin Gilmartin, the author of “Emotional Survival for Law Enforcement.” Chief Mike Koval of the Madison Police Department and Detective Jim Martin of the Wausau Police Department shared their departments’ experiences with officer involved shootings.     


Published June 17, 2019. Updated August 2, 2019.

WolfPack baseball players make history

The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) has released its 2019 Division II Baseball All-American Teams, and for the second time in Madison College history, the list includes three members of the WolfPack. Sophomore Nick Gile was selected as a first team honoree, while fellow second years Matt Hamilton and Nathan Aide earned second team accolades. The last and only time the Madison College baseball team had three All-Americans in the same year was in 2001 (Mike Mueller, Brian Schumacher and Scott Whitrock). The trio gives the 'Pack 23 All-Americans, with Gile becoming the ninth to receive first team recognition.

Published June 14, 2019.

Big league franchises draft WolfPack players

The list of current and former Madison College players drafted by big league franchises grew by two in 2019. On June 5, sophomore pitcher Brandon Komar's name was called as a 13th Round selection by the San Diego Padres during the 2019 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft. Later that day, former WolfPack infielder Cade Bunnell was announced as a 40th Round pick of the Atlanta Braves. The duo pushes the list of current and former Madison College players taken in the draft to 29, with Komar becoming the 17th player to be drafted straight from Madison College.  

Published June 12, 2019. Updated June 18, 2019.