Matters is moving to the new modern Intranet in SharePoint. The Matters site will no longer be accessible after 12/19/19.

Please contact Kristin Polywacz with any questions.

Thompson earns top prize in Madison College Challenge

Six local entrepreneurs competed in the final phase of the 2017 Madison College Challenge business plan contest Friday, May 5. Deb Thompson, co-founder of Stimmi LLC, earned the top prize of $5,000 provided by Summit Credit Union and business services from local vendors.

Stimmi LLC, is a website designed to address the unique needs of a disabled person by collecting information in one place where it can be easily accessed by others to implement a care plan. Launched in April, the site is available on a monthly subscription basis. Thompson’s partner in the Madison-based venture is Laura Berkner.

Other award winners were:

  • Dharmendra Shah, second place, $2,500 sponsored by J. H. Findorff and Son
  • Melissa Gregory-Simon, third place, $1,500 sponsored by Cleary Building Corp.
  • Seth Jensen and Nika Taylor, fourth place, $1,000 and admission to the Wisconsin Entrepreneurship Conference, sponsored by Madison Gas and Electric
  • Harry Dettinger, fifth place, $1,000 sponsored by Mae Laatsch
  • Kaci Sullivan, sixth place, $500 sponsored by American Family Ventures

Business services for the prize winners were sponsored by: 100State, Growth Bomb Elite, Jenna Atkinson Consulting, Murphy Desmond Law Office, Madison Noteworthy, Walkner Condon Financial Advisors, Doyenne Group and SourceHouse. Jeff Noble and Jill Huizenga were operations sponsors for the event.

The Challenge, organized by the Center for Entrepreneurship, is open to all Madison College students enrolled in at least one credit or noncredit course during the current or previous school year. The college offers a Small Business Entrepreneurship program including courses in small business development and marketing, accounting fundamentals, customer service management and business law. 

Published May 10, 2017. Updated May 22, 2017.