Wisconsin Agricultural Machinery Service Technician Contest Results

Madison College students earned top honors in the 2018 Wisconsin Professional Agriculture Student contest held Feb. 11 at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College in Fennimore. 

Fourteen teams from around the state participated in the event. Madison College teams took four of the top six spots in the Agricultural Machinery Service Technician competition. Kyle Jenks and Josh Siemers earned first place, Tim Wohlk and Darrin Helt, second place, Gavin Schuh and Brad Pirtle, fifth place, and Amber Topel and Levi Kotek, sixth place.

The first place individual tie breaker was determined by the written test score. Siemers just edged Jenks out for the top individual spot. Helt placed third among individual competitors.

The Wisconsin Professional Agriculture Student AMSTA Contest is open to all technical colleges in the state of Wisconsin. Students are judged on various agricultural equipment stations, including tractors and implements, along with results of a written exam.  

The top six teams in the state have the opportunity to compete in the National Professional Agriculture Student Contest to be held March 11-16, in Louisville, Ky. 

Published February 19, 2018.

Hospitality Management director receives NISOD 2018 Excellence Award

Lynea Lavoy, Hospitality Management program director at Madison College, is being recognized with the 2018 NISOD Excellence Award for her contributions to student success and advancement of the college's mission. She is an engaging instructor who consistently receives positive feedback from students, and has created strong partnerships with external organizations.

In addition to teaching and networking, Lynea serves on multiple professional organizations and advisory boards. As the recipient of this award, Lynea will be sponsored to attend the NISOD national conference in Austin, Texas, May 26-29. 

Published February 7, 2018.

Vet Tech instructor co-authors book

Full-time faculty member Sabrina Freter (Veterinary Technician program) is featured on the cover of “Essential Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians” and is a contributing author for two chapters.

Freter wrote Chapters 14 and 15 which deal with:

  • Equine Procedures
  • Bovine/Small Ruminant Procedures

The book is step-by-step clinical skills guide. It will be offered with a 30-day trial online and paper copies will be available mid-February from Bluedoor Publishing


Published January 26, 2018. Updated January 29, 2018.

Wozniak named WorldTeam Technical Expert

Diesel Equipment Technology instructor Tom Wozniak has been named WorldTeam Technical Expert for the WorldSkills Competition in Kazan, Russia, Aug. 29-Sept. 3, 2019. He will help a SkillsUSA national champion prepare for international competition.

The WorldSkills championship is held every two years and attracts young professionals from all over the globe for the chance to earn a prestigious medal in their chosen skill.

Wozniak serves as an advisor for Madison College’s SkillsUSA team and collegiate postsecondary state director for the organization that provides educational programs, events and competitions to support career and technical education.

“I am deeply honored and humbled by this opportunity to work with and coach the candidate that will represent the United States in the Heavy Vehicle Maintenance competition,” Wozniak said. “One never knows the impact he or she leaves on a person or their industry. How the future is forever changed. This is what excites me about this industry and about being a World Skills expert.”

Published January 26, 2018.

Watertown Campus raises funds with root beer floats

The Watertown Campus hosted a Root Beer Float fundraiser on Tuesday, Dec. 12 with proceeds donated to the South Campus Match.

The Root Beer Float event was to also say farewell to the fall semester and enjoy refreshments with fellow students and staff.

With root beer donated by Sprecher’s and custard donated by Culvers, the campus served 52 floats and raised more than $86.00.


Published December 20, 2017. Updated January 5, 2018.

Employee Excellence nominees named

Join the Employee Excellence Committee in congratulating the 2017-18 individual and team nominees for this year's Excellence Awards:

Lynea LaVoy
Marty Richards
Jason Huberty
Karen Kettner
Theresa Bodus
Belinda Prahl
Carola Pfortner
Jennifer Jackowski
Penny Johnson
Tim Casper
Alan Natachu
DC (Cory) Helser
Jennifer Zarrinnam
Rachelle Scalzo
Tina Rettler-Pagel
Corina Diaz Suazo
Masaya Xiong
Steve Zoerb
Susanne Treiber
The Admissions team
The Portage office team
The Program Development team
The School of Business and Applied Arts office team
The Testing Center team

The Employee Excellence Awards recognize excellence in full-time teaching, part-time teaching, leadership, innovation, student service and support, organizational and college support and outstanding teams.

A special thanks to all of the nominators who generously recognized the outstanding work of their colleagues. The award winners will be announced at Convocation.

Published December 8, 2017. Updated December 11, 2017.

English instructors to give local poetry reading

English faculty Guy Thorvaldsen and Matthew Guenette are giving a poetry reading/book release at a local gallery on Saturday, Dec. 9, from 8-9:30 p.m. 

The event takes place at the Arts + Literature Laboratory (2021 Winnebago St, Madison, Wisconsin). Anyone is welcome to attend. A $3-5 donation is suggested.

Guenette is the author of two full-length poetry collections: "American Busboy," chosen by Mary Biddinger as an Editor's Choice for the University of Akron Press and published in 2011, and "Sudden Anthem," which was awarded Dream Horse Press's American Poetry Journal Book Prize and published in 2008. "Sudden Anthem" was also named an Outstanding Achievement in Poetry in 2009 by the Wisconsin Library Association. He has been a resident at the Vermont Studio Center and a fellow for the Hessen-Wisconsin Literary Exchange.

Thorvaldsen 's poetry has appeared in Alembic, Alligator Juniper, Forge, Gulfstream, Zone 3, Poet Lore, and Verse Wisconsin. His first book of poetry, "Going to Miss Myself When I’m Gone," came out in October 2017 from Aldrich Press. 

Published December 8, 2017.

Animation instructor shares work at Chazen Museum of Art

Animation Instructor and fantasy illustrator Ed Binkley has been invited to present his work and a discussion about his techniques at the Chazen Museum of Art on the University of Wisconsin Campus, from 12-3 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 2.

His presentation is in conjunction with the Chazen Museum's exhibit of the Stephen Korshak Collection of fantasy art.  The event includes hands-on learning activities with many artists.

Published November 29, 2017.

Instructor receives national award

Architectural Technology instructor Michael Ford was named Top Innovator in Race and Social Equity by the nationwide Urban Libraries Council. He was recognized for his Hip Hop Architecture Camp for middle and high school youth which allows them to reimagine their communities through the lens of hip hop. The first camp was held at the Madison Public Library. Ford now holds camps throughout the U.S.

Published November 27, 2017.

Writing Center represents Madison College at international conference

The Madison College Writing Center sent a group of faculty, professional and peer tutors to the International Writing Center Association annual conference in Chicago Nov. 10-13.

Peer tutor Adrienne Oliva presented a paper based on a Spring 2017 Honors Project. Online Writing Center tutors Andrea Benton, Charlotte Smith and Heidi Rosenberg presented on research they're conducting in the Madison College Writing Center. Director Sarah Z Johnson and Senior Coordinator Susanne Treiber gave a paper about peer tutor training.

Published November 22, 2017.